Skip navigation

posted by Unctuous

It’s been a while since I’ve come across some real quality progressive trance, but this is definitely a contender for 2010. Every track is a new, high flying adventure that is so full of energy that you feel almost weightless. I’ve found a lot of recent trance just doesn’t have the earth-shattering power it used to. The certain buzzy, saw wave synths aren’t that appealing any more and are a little unpleasant after so long. This album is a much needed refresh on trance.

Another idea that stood out to me was how multi-dimensional this album sounds. I’ve heard so much trance that only focuses on one or two things happening melodically or harmonically, but these tracks are constantly evolving. Stopping to think about what is happening is simply not an option.¬†Fantastic pumping, and shimmering sounds feel at times overwhelming as the sheer melodic depth can be a little difficult to comprehend, however I mean this in the best way possible. The quality in the synth textures are wonderful. I’ve always been fond of gating and filtering to keep a track moving and this is no exception. Effects are layered well; they blend effectively, and are carefully placed.

A sense of constant direction is always leading the way to a more rich and complex place. The deep, warm nature of this music is like an entire ecosystem encased in audio. Every minute detail is bright and vivid. Every sound is like a life of its own life that grows and impacts others around it. I only wish I could spend my entire life living in a world this music depicts.

More info at:

Last.fm

Discogs

Buy this release at:

Beatport

Download.

2 Comments

  1. I’m really loving this album, thanks a lot!

  2. Its has been years since I’ve gone anywhere near this genre (as close as I get these days is the occasional dip into psy-trance) but I must admit that the previews of this album I listened to sound pretty good. Takes me back to the late 90’s/early 2000’s when good melodic trance was all the rage. I may give this one a shot when my emusic creds refresh.


Leave a Reply

